LibGuides: Political Science: Finding News Sources

Finding New Sources

Access World News (1985 - present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 2,600 U.S. and international newpapers, including the Oregonian and other regional papers. Includes Selected wire services, radio and television transcripts.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database contains the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
World News Connection (1996 - 2013) This link opens in a new window
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries, updated daily. For earlier content see Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports.

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
All current Reed students, faculty, and staff have direct access to nytimes.com once you activate an account using your Reed email address. Our campus subscription also includes mobile News apps for iOS and Android, NYT Audio app for iOS, newsletter subscriptions, New York Times in Education, and archival content via TimesMachine. (Our subscription excludes games, but currently we do have access to Cooking and Wirecutter.)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis. A good source for current articles in major newspapers and for looking up information about companies, industries, and countries.

WestLawNext This link opens in a new window
Access to U.S. and international law sources. Access includes: legal encyclopedias, cases, statutes and legislative materials, and law reviews.

Congressional Record
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. FDsys contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.

ProQuest Congressional (1789 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Congressional documents, including bills, statues, hearings, reports, and legislative histories.
ProQuest Congressional Hearings This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, or CHDC, is a collection of published and unpublished hearings held by Congress.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1819 - 1994) This link opens in a new window
An important series of American government publications, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set is a rich source of primary and secondary material on the people, issues and events of the United States. The Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives covers myriad subjects.