LibGuides: Psycholinguistics: Data Sources

Lexical Databases

Lexical databases include an inventory of known morphemes of a language and information about their meanings such as part of speech, definition, sample sentences, and cultural annotations.

MRC Psycholinguistic Database
A database of psycholinguistic information. Semantic, syntactic, phonological and orthographic information about some or all of the 98,500 English words in the database is accessible by using a specially-written programming language. Word-association data are also included in the database.
University of South Florida Free Association Norms
Free association data for 72,000 word pairs, along with over a million entries of related data, such as forward and backward strength, number of competing associates, and printed frequency.
WebCelex
Lexical database for Dutch, English, and German including frequency, orthography, phonology, morphology, and syntax.
WordNet
A large lexical database of English. Nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs are grouped into sets of cognitive synonyms (synsets), each expressing a distinct concept.

Data Sets and Corpora

Child Language Data Exchange System (CHILDES)
CHILDES is the child language component of the TalkBank system. TalkBank is a system for sharing and studying conversational interactions.
Max Plank Institute for Psycholinguistics
Data archives and language corpora from research into the psychological, social and biological foundations of language.

OLAC Language Resource Catalog This link opens in a new window
OLAC, the Open Language Archives Community, is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources. The catalog provides access to information about thousands of languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives.

TalkBank
Shared databases of recordings and coded transcripts within subfields studying communication, including aphasia, audiology, bilingualism, Child Language Data Exchange System (CHILDES), conversational analysis, dementia, phonological and phonetic analysis, second language acquisition, and traumatic brain injury.