Angie is offline.
Key Reference Resources
Classical History & Literature
Brill’s New Pauly: Enyclopaedia of the Ancient World (Online access. Print edition: Ref DE5 .N4813 2002) A multi-volume English translation of the seminal German reference work Der Neue Pauly, containing illustrated scholarly articles reflecting current research. An extremely comprehensive resource with a contemporary, interdisciplinary approach. Consists of three parts: Antiquity, Classical Tradition, and a Supplement, Chronologies of the Ancient World: Names, Dates, and Dynasties.
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature (3rd Edition, online. Print edition: Ref PA31 .H69 1989) Includes articles on authors, major works, historical notables, mythological figures, and topics of literary significance from the appearance of the Greeks, around 2200 B.C, to the close of the Athenian philosophy schools in A.D. 529.
Oxford Classical Dictionary (3rd Edition, online. Print edition: Stacks DE5 .O9 1970). With more than 6,200 entries, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome (Online access. Print edition: DE5 .O95 2010) A multi-volume contemporary work examining the classical Mediterranean world from an interdisciplinary perspective.
Guide to the Ancient World: A Dictionary of Classical Place Names (Online access through Credo Reference. Print version: Stacks DE25 .G72 1986)
Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World (Online access through Credo Reference. Print version:DE5 .L29 1999)
Who's Who in the Roman World (Online access through Credo Reference. Print version:DG203 .H39 2001)
Classical Philosophy & Religion
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy (Online access through Credo Reference. Print version: Stacks B163 .E53 1997)
Encyclopedia of Religion (Online access through GVRL. Print version:Ref BL31 .E46 2005)
Classical Art & Mythology
Dictionary of Classical Mythology (Stacks BL715 .G713 1996)
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture (Online access. Print edition: Ref N5610 .G76 2007)
Guide to Research in Classical Art and Mythology (Stacks N7760 .V3 1991)
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC) (Ref N7760 .L49 1981) An illustrated multilingual encyclopedia of Greek, Roman, and Etruscan mythology in art and literature. A majority of the artifacts described are pictured, and most entries also include a bibliography.
Women of Classical Mythology: A Biographical Dictionary (Stacks BL715 .B445 1991)