This is the "About" page of the "Government Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Documents   Tags: data, government documents  

Last Updated: Feb 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.reed.edu/govdocs Print Guide RSS Updates

About Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian

Profile Image
Joe Marquez
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Office: L189
Phone: (503) 788-6636
Send Email
Office Hours:
Email me to set up an appointment.

Government Documents at Reed

Reed College receives approximately 38 percent of U.S. government publications distributed to libraries in paper, microfiche, and CD-ROM formats. Access to the collection and to government information on the Internet is available to members of the Reed community and to the general public. For more information about the collection or help locating a document, contact:

Joe Marquez
Web Services Librarian
and Federal Depository Coordinator    
503/788-6636
or a reference librarian:
Phone: 503/777-7554
E-mail: e-ref@reed.edu
IM: reedlibrarian

As a participant in the Federal Depository Library Program, Reed College Library has received selected publications, or documents, from the United States government since 1912. The collection contains many historical series with holdings dating from the nineteenth century. Highlights of the collection include:

  • Primary documentation of the United States Congress, including public laws, congressional reports and documents, transcripts of hearings, and the Congressional Record.
  • Publications of the executive branch, including presidential speeches and public statements and proposed rules and regulations.
  • Supreme Court decisions.
  • Publications on American foreign policy from the U.S. Department of State.
  • Historical statistical series and current data on CD-ROM issued by many government agencies, including the Census Bureau, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, and the Department of Health and Human Services.

The Reed College documents collection is shelved by Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) number in the Center Stacks, Lower Level 1. In addition to the paper collection, many government documents are issued as microfiche. They are filed by SuDoc number in the Microforms Room, located adjacent to the Center Stacks, Lower Level 1. Selected high-use or special format government documents are housed in the Reference Room or in other parts of the library. These materials may be located using the library catalog.

Reed's library reference collection contains several databases, catalogs, and indexes that can be used to locate any government publication, not just those in its own documents collection. U.S. documents not available at Reed may be borrowed from other depository libraries in the area.

      

    Reed College | Phone: 503-771-1112 | Fax: 503-777-7769 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip