This is the "Get Started" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music  

Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.reed.edu/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian

Profile Image
Erin Conor
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Office hours Mondays, 3-4pm, Wednesdays 11am-12pm, or by appointment.
ph: 503-517-7413
Send Email
Subjects:
music, dance, theatre

Key Resources

Oxford Music Online  Always a good starting point. Access to Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music..  The New Grove Dictionary of Music is also in Reference and the PARC, ML100 .N48 2001.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music  Comprehensive overview of musical traditions worldwide.  Also in Reference and the PARC, ML100 .G16 1998. 

Encyclopedia of World Cultures    Each volume is dedicated to a different region of the world; good for ethnomusicology.  Reference, GN307.E53 1991

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World   See volume 3 for information by country; volume 2 includes information re. ensembles, techniques, instruments, etc.
v. 1. Media, industry and society -- v. 2. Performance and production -- v. 3. Locations

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Music  Comprehensive and frequently updated bibliographies for a variety of topics relevant to music research.

Oxford Reference Online for Music  Quick source for basic information about classical music, musical theatre, dance and theatre.

Cambridge Companions Online  Full text access to "Cambridge companion to. . ." books in music, as well as literature, classics, philosophy, religion, and culture.

Analyses of nineteenth- and twentieth-century music, 1940-2000   Over 9,000 references to analyses of works by more than 1,000 composers of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.  ML113 .H695 2007
      

    Quick Links

    Alan Lomax Archive   Online access to materials from the archives of folklorist and ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax, including rare and unique sound recordings, videos, and photographs.

    Classical Music Library   Streaming audio, primarily classical music. Also available through Music Online.

    DRAM  Streaming audio. Good for hard-to-locate, contemporary American music. Albums from New World Records, other independent labels and archival sources.

    medici.tv Streaming video for prerecorded musical productions, plus access to 100 live performances per year.

    Met Opera on Demand Met Opera on Demand: Student Access offers users instant access to more than 475 full-length Met performances, including stunning HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.

    Music Online  Streaming audio in a variety of genres including classical, jazz, folk and world music.

    Naxos Music Library  Streaming audio.  Complete catalogue of Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo labels, as well as selections from many other labels. Primarily classical music, also world, folk, and other genres.

    Naxos Music Library Jazz  Access over 3,800 jazz albums, from Naxos Jazz and the Fantasy Jazz labels.

    Smithsonian Global Sound  Recordings from the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, as well as Folkways Records, Paredon, and other labels. Primarily world music and folk music; includes field recordings.

        

      Reed College | Phone: 503-771-1112 | Fax: 503-777-7769 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip