Whether provided by the Reed College Library or selected for inclusion by our librarians, these online resources will support coursework and research projects across the college's arts, humanities, social sciences, and STEM disciplines. Browse, filter, or search to find the right library database for your needs.
The most frequently-used databases
Full text archive of scholarly journals and primary sources in various disciplines. As of August 2024, the interdisciplinary library of images once known as Artstor has been completely incorporated within the JSTOR platform. Artstor images will appear in all searches, or you can use the Browse Images function.
Music ID is an academic research tool that utilizes powerful analytics to compile global music industry data into three, easy-to-use platforms: Music ID Data, Music ID Revenue, and Music ID Impact. The platforms are updated weekly.
A unique collection of rare and historically significant jazz periodicals revealing the development and evolution of jazz as an art form and the historical, cultural, and sociological facets of American and twentieth-century life.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This style guide from the American Chemical Society covers journal authoring topics (e.g., article organization and peer review) as well as styling conventions for all scholarly communication, including chemical nomenclature, effective writing, and word usage. It also explores areas like Open Science, data sharing, safety communication, and preprints.
This scientific companion to the Chicago Manual of Style offers complete coverage of rules and best practices in scientific publishing, including as an authoritative reference for scientific nomenclature, symbols, and style issues. Look for the Citation Quick Guide for a breakdown of 3 citation systems.
Music ID is an academic research tool that utilizes powerful analytics to compile global music industry data into three, easy-to-use platforms: Music ID Data, Music ID Revenue, and Music ID Impact. The platforms are updated weekly.
A unique collection of rare and historically significant jazz periodicals revealing the development and evolution of jazz as an art form and the historical, cultural, and sociological facets of American and twentieth-century life.
