LibGuides: Econ 323 American Economic History: Finding Articles

Getting Articles

Many library databases include information to help you locate articles in the academic literature, but they may not include the full text of the article itself. The library offers two services to help you make the connection from these databases to the article you need:

Reed FullText link in the database. Most Reed databases include link that says "Check Reed FullText" or something similarly. Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for.
Interlibrary Loan Request -- ILLIAD. Log into ILLIAD with your Reed network ID and password to request journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for viewing, usually within 1-2 weeks.

Finding Journal Articles

A literature review on any topic begins with a thorough search for books using the library catalog. But in order to conduct a more thorough search, including the journal literature and other source materials, more tools are needed. These sources are especially useful for students of economics.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
A collaborative project of several major research libraries in the U.S. to create a comprehensive library of digital library materials. Login and choose Reed College from the partner institution drop down menu to access more full text content.
JSTOR
Full text archive of scholarly journals and primary sources in various disciplines. As of August 2024, the interdisciplinary library of images once known as Artstor has been completely incorporated within the JSTOR platform. Artstor images will appear in all searches, or you can use the Browse Images function.
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.

Economic Reviews

Annual Review of Economics
The Annual Review of Economics covers significant developments in the field of economics, including macroeconomics and money; microeconomics, including economic psychology; international economics; public finance; health economics; education; economic growth and technological change; economic development; social economics, including culture, institutions, social interaction, and networks; game theory, political economy, and social choice; and more.

EconLit (1969 - Present)
Academic journal articles, books, and working papers in economics.

Economic History

America: History and Life (1964 - Present)
Indexes over 2,000 scholarly journals to find citations for appropriate articles on your topic in American or Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Allows you to search by historical period. For other parts of the world, use Historical Abstracts.

The Economist
The Economist online offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology.

Historical Abstracts (1954 - Present)
Index, with abstracts, to research in world history (excluding North America) from 1450 through the 20th Century. For North American history use America: History and Life.