History 411: Reconstruction, the Gilded Age, and the Progressive Era, 1865-1919 (Dirks, Fall 2023)

Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.

Digitized page images from over 1000 American magazines from the 18th and 19th centuries.

Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

The leading source for primary documents concerning women's history. Includes books, pamphlets, and periodicals having to do with the development of feminist thought and the women's rights movement.

A fully searchable library of works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies and key secondary sources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.

Full text digital images of 61,000 works of literature on the economy and business from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature. Topics include commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade, and transport.

Primary sources about the Americas published throughout the world. Includes books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents and provides original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.

Primary documents from several important archives. Includes material from books.

Collection of primary source documents drawn from letters, diaries, and oral histories. This database pulls together content from: North American Women's Letters and Diaries, British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories, The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, and Black Thought and Culture.

ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials from over 1,000 different institutions, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.

A digital archive of historical primary documents and reference material.

Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s. Issues include the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

Includes articles from early American newspapers. Searchable by presidential eras, eras in American history, place of publications, and newspaper titles. Includes full text of the Oregonian 1861-1971.

Search just the "Historical Black Newspapers" portion of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection. This includes the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier.

Full text of a large number of 18th and 19th century American Newspapers including the African American Newspapers collection.

A compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.