Skip to main content

Government Information Online

Government Printing Office -- General

govinfo. govinfo provides full text access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. It replaces previous systems GPO Access and FDsys.

Executive Branch

White House. Speeches and other official documents of the current president and vice-president.

Legislative Branch

ProQuest Congressional . Text of laws, bills, reports, and hearings. Includes index of Congressional publications.  To locate print publications indexed in LexisNexis Congressional, please ask a librarian.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Searchable full-text documents published from 1789-1980.

Congress.gov. The Library of Congress legislative information system. Contains text of bills and laws since the 103rd Congress, 1993 to date.

House of Representatives

Senate

Judicial Branch

Lexis-Nexis Academic. Federal Case Law, including full text of all Supreme Court decisions.

U.S. Supreme Court. Recent court decisions and documentation, such as oral arguments, from the official court site.

The Oyez Project: U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia Database.  In addition to decisions, contains background information about justices and audio files of oral arguments.

U.S. Courts.  Includes a court locator map with links to U.S. courts of appeal, district courts, and bankruptcy courts.

Directories and other Internet Finding Aids

Federal Agency Directory.  From Louisiana State University Libraries. Directory to Internet sites of departments and agencies.

Federal Government Resources on the Web.  From the University of Michigan's Documents Center.

USA.gov. The U.S. government's official web portal.