LibGuides: Anthropology Thesis Guide: Secondary Sources

Reed Library Catalog

In the Library Catalog, you can search Reed and Summit (Pacific Northwest college and university libraries) simultaneously.

Choose "Books, Articles, and More" to access thousands of journal article links, along with Reed and Summit items.
Choose "Reed + Summit" to find and request items from Reed and Summit Libraries.
Choose "Reed Library Only" to limit items from Reed Library only.

To find materials beyond Reed and Summit libraries, you can search WorldCat. This expands your search to libraries worldwide and allows you to request materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Finding Journal Articles

Use one of these databases to locate articles on your topic.

AnthroSource (1888 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital collection of publications of the American Anthropological Association.
Anthropology Plus (Early 1800 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, reports, commentaries, and edited works in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Some full -text available.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, reviews, and conference papers in the fields of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
Alternative Press Index (1991 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Click Browse by Subject to see what Reed has access to. Includes regularly updated bibliographies by leading experts.

Getting Articles

Many library databases include information to help you locate articles in the academic literature, but they may not include the full text of the article itself. The library offers two services to help you make the connection from these databases to the article you need:

Reed FullText link in the database. Most Reed databases include link that says "Check Reed FullText" or something similarly. Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for.
Interlibrary Loan Request — ILLIAD. Log into this service with your Reed network ID and password to request journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for viewing, usually within a week.

Literature Review Tools for Geographic or Ethnographic Approaches

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (16th Century - Present) This link opens in a new window
Books and journal literature on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.

Critical Ethnic Studies
Critical Ethnic Studies provides a space for unique and insurgent critique among academic and activist intellectuals within ethnic studies. It is interdisciplinary work that repositions the guiding assumptions of other fields, and engages the new methodologies, philosophies, and propositions of this emerging intellectual formation.
more...less...
Refereed/Peer-reviewed

Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Published annually, this handbook is a selective bibliography of the most important articles in the field of Latin American Studies.

Journal of Contemporary Ethnography
Journal of Contemporary Ethnography (JCE), published bi-monthly, is an international and interdisciplinary forum for research using ethnographic methods to examine human behavior in natural settings.
more...less...
Peer-reviewed

News Sources

Access World News (1985 - present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 2,600 U.S. and international newpapers, including the Oregonian and other regional papers. Includes Selected wire services, radio and television transcripts.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis. A good source for current articles in major newspapers and for looking up information about companies, industries, and countries.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s. Issues include the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.