LibGuides: Anthropology Thesis Guide: Reference Works

Online Reference Tools

Use one of these online reference collections or sources to find background information on your topic.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Replaces the decommissioned American FactFinder. Interactive data and mapping from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population, housing, and other social and economic data from the decennial census of population and housing, the economic census, and from annual surveys and estimates programs.
Gale eBooks (formerly Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains facts, figures, definitions, and translations in most fields, from art and architecture to science.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Database of over 600 books, handbooks, and journal articles focusing on research design and methods in the social sciences.

Print Reference Works

Reference materials can be found on the Main Level (ML) of the Reed College Library.

These subject-specific encyclopedias provide easy access to authoritative definitions and concepts used in anthropology and the study of cultures.

Encyclopedia of Diasporas by Melvin Ember (Editor); Carol R. Ember (Editor); Ian Skoggard (Editor)
ISBN: 0387299041
Publication Date: 2007-01-25
Online Access, 2 vols.
The Encyclopedia of Diasporas can be used both to gain a general understanding of immigration and immigrants, and to find out about particular cultures, topics and communities. It addresses the disciplines of anthropology, social studies, political studies, international studies, and immigrant and immigration studies.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: GN307 .E527 1996
ISBN: 9780415099967
Publication Date: 1996-10-10
Online Access, 4 vols.
A guide to the theory and practice of cultural anthropology containing articles on approaches, methods, concepts, and key topics. Includes bibliographical references.
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures by Melvin Ember (Editor); Carol R. Ember (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HT108.5 .E53 2002
ISBN: 9780717256983
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
4 vols.
A guide to over 240 major cities around the world including demographic information, history, politics, public systems, culture, social life and future outlook.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures by David Levinson (Editor)
ISBN: 081611840X
Publication Date: 1996-03-06
Online Access, 10 vols.
Each volume is dedicated to a different region of the world. Provides an overview of local ethnologies and cultures. Includes references.
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia by R. Jon McGee (Editor); Richard L. Warms (Editor)
ISBN: 1506307752
Publication Date: 2013
Online access
A guide to the most authoritative and thorough reference resource available on anthropology theory.
World Geographical Encyclopedia, 5-Volume Set by McGraw Hill
Call Number: Ref G63 .E5213 1995
ISBN: 9780079114969
Publication Date: 1995-04-01
5 vols.
Covers the populated continents. Articles are organized by country rather than by culture and include profiles on the natural environment, population, economy summary, and history. Includes color photographs.