Skip to main content

Poetry Research

Finding Books

Searching the Library Catalog

Options for searching the Library Catalog include:

  • Reed Library: search for books and media at Reed.
  • Reed + Summit: find and request items from Reed and Summit Libraries
  • Reed + Summit + Articles: access to thousands of journal article links, along with Reed and Summit items. Please note that only about 25% of the articles we have access to are available in this feature.
  • To find materials beyond Reed and Summit libraries, click the "search WorldCat" button. This expands your search to libraries worldwide and allows you to request materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Handbooks, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias

Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics 
Provides surveys of 106 national poetries; descriptions of poetic forms and genres...detailed explanations of the devices of prosody and rhetoric; and overviews of all major schools of poetry ancient and modern, Western and Eastern...provides balanced and comprehensive accounts of the major movements and issues in criticism and literary theory.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
A guide to the intellectual traditions of literary theory that includes articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

American National Biography

Provides comprehensive biographies, bibliographies, and resources on authors and poets. 

Contemporary Authors
Provides biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Gives the meaning, pronunciation and history of over 500,000 words.  The OED traces a word's usage through quotations from many sources from different time periods.