LibGuides: History Junior Seminar: History of Science 1660-1860 (Spring 2023): Reference Sources

Reference Sources

There are many handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias that provide basic information for historical studies. If you are selecting a topic, build a framework by consulting definitions or a quick overview found in these resources and then focus on your topic by searching for more specific information.

The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science by John L. Heilbron (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199891153
Publication Date: 2003-03-27
Reader's Guide to the History of Science by Arne Hessenbruch (Editor)
ISBN: 1134262949
Publication Date: 2013-12-16

General Reference Sources

Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text access to "Cambridge companion to. . ." series of books in the areas of literature, music, classics, philosophy, religion, and culture.
Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Over 200 titles in a variety of disciplines. Includes the Cambridge History of Science series.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
Gale eBooks (formerly Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains facts, figures, definitions, and translations in most fields, from art and architecture to science.