Skip to Main Content

Chemistry

Resources for Chemistry Majors and students taking Chemistry Courses at Reed College

General

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Kirk-Othmer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471238966

Publication Date: 2001-01-26

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Key reference source for chemical and physical data--constants, properties, etc.
NIST Chemistry Web Book
Thermodynamic and ion-energetics data. Searchable by name, formula, and CAS number.

Analytical Chemistry

CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis by Thomas J. Bruno; Paris D. N. Svoronos
Call Number: QD78 .B78 2011

ISBN: 9781420080421

Publication Date: 2010-12-13
Dean's Analytical Chemistry Handbook by Pradyot Patnaik
Call Number: QD78 .P37 2004

ISBN: 9780071410601

Publication Date: 2004-06-14

A useful resource for the analytical chemist. It features worked examples, troubleshooting tips, and numerous tables and charts. It includes three major chapters on Analysis of Indoor Air, Analysis of Pesticides and Analysis of Trace Metals.

Biochemistry

Enzyme Hb by T. E. Barman
Call Number: QP601 .B2435 1969

ISBN: 9783540067610

Publication Date: 1985-11-01

Enzyme Nomenclature
Revision of the 1984 Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Includes standard abbreviations and references.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Brief definitions of terms (including acronyms and abbreviations). Includes some structures.

Chemical Hazards & Safety

Inorganic Chemistry

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Comprehensive coverage of inorganic chemistry and related topics. The 8-volume set includes organometallic, bioinorganic, and physical and theoretical topics, as relevant.

Laboratory/Safety

Chemical Technicians' Ready Reference Handbook by Gershon J. Shugar; Jack T. Ballinger
Call Number: QD61 .S58 1996

ISBN: 9780070571860

Publication Date: 1996-06-01

Covers all types of basic laboratory techniques, procedures, equipment, etc.
Handbook of Laboratory Safety by A. Keith Furr (Editor)
Call Number: QD51 .H27 1990

ISBN: 9780849303531

Publication Date: 1989-12-31

Describes laboratory safety procedures and guidelines in accordance with government regulations.
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, 5 Volume Set, Print and CD Package by Richard J. Lewis
Call Number: T55.3.H3 S3 2012

ISBN: 9781118356920

Publication Date: 2012-12-17

Hazard information on laboratory and industrial materials including toxicity, carcinogenicity, and mutagenecity; CA registry number and synonym cross-indexes.

Organic Chemistry

Comprehensive Organic Synthesis: Selectivity, Strategy, and Efficiency in Modern Organic Chemistry
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry: The Synthesis, Reactions, and Structures of Organometallic Compounds
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry II: A Review of the Literature 1982-1994
Surveys of research conducted in the particular areas. Each title is a multi-volume set with it’s own index.
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (EROS)

Physical Chemistry

NIST Chemistry Web Book
Thermodynamic and ion-energetics data. Searchable by name, formula, and CAS number.

Spectroscopy

The Aldrich library of FT-IR spectra
Call Number: QD96.I5 P66 1985
Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance by Leo A. Paquette; David M. Grant (Editor-In-Chief); Robin K. Harris (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: QC762 .E53 1995

ISBN: 9780471938712

Publication Date: 1996-05-01
Handbook of Infrared and Raman Spectra of Inorganic Compounds and Organic Salts, Four-Volume Set by Richard A. Nyquist; Ronald O. Kagel; Curtis L. Putzig; M. Anne Leugers
Call Number: QC457 .N927 1997

ISBN: 9780125234443

Publication Date: 1996-09-18
Practical Handbook of Spectroscopy by James W. Robinson
Call Number: QD95 .P73 1991

ISBN: 9780849337086

Publication Date: 1991-02-22
The Sadtler Handbook of Infrared Spectra by Sadtler Research Labs, Inc., Staff
Call Number: QC453 .S73 1978

ISBN: 9780845600344

Publication Date: 1978-06-01

Last Updated: Aug 6, 2025 11:41 AM
URL: https://libguides.reed.edu/chemistry
Print Page

Subjects: Chemistry

Tags: chemistry