Lloyd Reynolds taught calligraphy classes at Reed College starting in 1949. The calligraphy program was removed from Reed's curriculum in the 1980s and reestablished in 2012 as the Reed Scriptorium.
Scriptorium has two weekly classes focusing on Italic Calligraphy and related calligraphic styles. The Reed Scriptorium is free and open to all Reed College students, staff, faculty, and alumni. No experience necessary and all materials are provided. Scriptorium is organized by Gregory MacNaughton '89, Education Outreach and Calligraphy Initiative Coordinator of the Cooley Gallery.
Check the Cooley Gallery Website for times and locations of Scriptorium sessions while school is in session.
Lloyd Reynolds donated his papers and books to the Reed College Special Collections and Archives. They can be searched through in the Reed College Library catalog and through the Finding Aid.
Some of his belongings have been digitized and can be browsed online in the Reed College Archives available through the Reed Digital Collections.
The Reed College Library has many books on Lloyd Reynolds and Calligraphy.
Calligraphic Lettering with Wide Pen and Brush by Additional resources might be found using the following search terms:
Reynolds Television Program
"In 1968, Reynolds was selected for the Men who Teach series to make 20 half-hour television programs on Italic letter form and handwriting for the Oregon Education Television Service [later, Oregon Public Broadcasting]. He redid the series in color eight years later."
Reference: www.reed.edu/calligraphy/reynolds_television.html
Above is the first episode of the program, but other videos from the series are also available online.
Lynda.com
Lynda.com offers training on a variety of subjects, from beginner to expert courses. It has many videos available on calligraphy and letter forms.
You can gain access to Lynda.com by contacting Trina Marmarelli.
Similarly, if you have a Multnomah County library card, you can log in with your credentials.
Reed Digital Collections has downloadable lettering guides available.
Image courtesy the Reed Digital Collections: Reed College Archives
Email, call, or visit the library for more in-depth help with your questions!
This guide was initially created by library graduate students at Emporia State University, Gregory MacNaughton from the Cooley Gallery, and the Reed College Special Collections staff.
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
