LibGuides: Environmental Studies 300: Literature Review Sources and Help

Key Databases for Starting Your Research

Scopus
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
JSTOR
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
Annual Reviews
Full text access to Annual Reviews publications in 40 disciplines in the sciences and social sciences. Synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in a given field. Coverage dates back to the first volume, which varies for each publication.

STEM Databases

Gale OneFile. Environmental studies and policy.
More that 5.4 million articles in 300 plus journals, with topics covering: earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more.
NOAA Publications
The NOAA Repository is a digital library of scientific literature and research produced by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Through curated collections researchers can access documents and materials related to specific areas of research. Additionally, full text and other search options make the entirety of the repository accessible to users. This repository is retained indefinitely available to researchers, academics and the general public.
EurekAlert!
EurekAlert! is an online, global news service operated by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and provides a central place through which universities, medical centers, journals, government agencies, corporations and other organizations engaged in research can bring their news to the media.
EPA Science Inventory
The Science Inventory is a database of research output (papers, reports, presentations) primarily from EPA's Office of Research and Development. Includes air, forest, water information.
TreeSearch
Searchable database of US Forest Services scholarly publications (research papers, books, conference proceedings). Includes information on forest management, fire, climate change, natural resource use.

Nexis Uni now includes CSRHub ESG Ratings. This publication rates a company's Environmental, Social and Governance (or ESG) impact.

Archives & Historical Newspapers

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials from over 1,000 different institutions, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s. Issues include the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
Historic Oregon Newspapers
The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) is an initiative to digitize historic Oregon newspaper content and make it freely available to the public through a keyword-searchable online database. The initial phase of the program will concentrate on newspapers published between 1860 and 1922, with a goal of approximately 150,000 pages freely available online in the first two years (2009-2011)
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers
Search just the "Historical Black Newspapers" portion of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection. This includes the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier.
America's Historical Newspapers (includes access to the Oregonian and Early American Newspapers) (1690 - 1975)
Includes articles from early American newspapers. Searchable by presidential eras, eras in American history, place of publications, and newspaper titles. Includes full text of the Oregonian 1861-1971.

Environmental Studies 300

Data and Digital Scholarship Librarian

Science Librarian

Key Databases for Starting Your Research

STEM Databases

Archives & Historical Newspapers