Anna Sabino is an artist, but certainly not a starving one. She wasn’t born into a wealthy family, didn’t inherit money from a distant relative, and doesn’t have a rich husband. But she made it as an entrepreneur, as a single woman, and most important, as an artist.
In Your Creative Career, she shows her fellow artists and creatives how to build a business that reflects their talent and true calling while generating serious cash. Whether the goal is to build an empire and be financially free, create a lifestyle business, or just to have more time, Your Creative Career guides you through every aspect of creative entrepreneurship.
Building on the past sucesses of Becoming a Graphic Designer and Becoming a Digital Designer, this newly combined fifth edition addresses the demands of finding and suceeding at a design career in the 21st century.
Based on two years of intensive observation at three university-based graduate MFA arts programs, 'Talking Art' provides a detailed ethnography of how young artists are trained in the contemporary art world and how creativity has found a place in the modern American university.
The Everyday Practice of Public Art: Art, Space, and Social Inclusion is a multidisciplinary anthology of analyses exploring the expansion of contemporary public art issues beyond the built environment. It follows the highly successful publication The Practice of Public Art (eds. Cartiere and Willis), and expands the analysis of the field with a broad perspective which includes practicing artists, curators, activists, writers and educators from North America, Europe and Australia, who offer divergent perspectives on the many facets of the public art process.
The book examines the contemporary art system with a broad and systematic approach, through the application of models of microeconomics and industrial organizations. By breaking down the traditional barriers between different academic disciplines such as art and economics, this book offers a unique opportunity to grasp the complexities of the contemporary art world and provides the tools to conduct a structural analysis of that market.
This work offers a nuanced perspective based on empirical evidence of the role of talent and creativity for economic growth, prosperity, social and spatial inequality, and precarity in creative cities by arguing that creativity and talent need to be valued and eventually rewarded to achieve sufficient conditions for individual economic success. Shedding light on the recent momentum of a growing convergence of cultural and economic spheres in post‐industrial societies by building on a case study of contemporary visual art from interviews with commercial gallerists.
With the rapid and unprecedented global expansion of the art market, new collectors are emerging every day. When buying art, whether for pure enjoyment, for investment or some other motive, few art collectors consider the practical and financial implications of owning and maintaining art, and many do not have a plan for how they might eventually dispose of it. This book, probing a number of resources and incorporating advice from top experts in the field, offers guidance on collection management and care, and serves as an important reference guide for collectors and those charged with managing
Your resume and cover letter, as well as a digital portfolio, business card and mailers, will function as the first contact and impression you make. These items will work to get your ""foot in the door."" Ultimately, however, it will be your portfolio book or online portfolio website that will land you the job. The creation of your own portfolio is a creative statement about the value you place on your work and craft.
For those embarking on an illustration or graphic design career how best to put together an effective, professional portfolio. It discusses what to include and how to organize and display the work, and also advises on presentation techniques and self-promotion. Both print and virtual portfolios are covered. Deciding who to approach for work is of key importance whether you are looking for a full-time position or freelance work, and the book maps out the creative marketplace, examining the main areas of work and describing the types of position available in each, and how the commissioning process works. Tips are included from commissioners and practitioners working in magazine and book publishing, design, advertising, TV/film and beyond, as well as agents and educators.
The Designer's Field Guide to Collaboration provides practitioners and students with the tools necessary to collaborate effectively with a wide variety of partners in an increasingly socially complex and technology-driven design environment.
It takes more than just a design school education and a killer portfolio to succeed in a creative career. Burn Your Portfolio teaches the real-world practices, professional do's and don'ts, and unwritten rules of business that most designers, photographers, web designers, copy writers, programmers, and architects only learn after putting in years of experience on the job.
The Fine Art of Success shows why you should look to pop-stars like Madonna or artists like Damian Hirst for guidance on innovation, competitive advantage, leadership, and a host of other business issues. Managers, marketing professionals, and students will see how these creative artists can help their organizations.
The first edition of Beyond Talent quickly became a favorite among classical and jazz musicians, and has been used in courses at scores of conservatories and universities. This expanded second edition provides updated user-friendly advice, inspiring examples, and practical tools to advance a career in music. Packed with new tips and resources, Beyond Talent now covers everything from social networking tools, to commissioning, branding, and online fundraising, as well as tips on staying motivated, assessing one's strengths and weaknesses, and managing time, money, and stress.
The Art of Music Production is the first book to comprehensively analyze and describe the role of the music producer in creating successful music recordings. Now in its fourth edition, it is the definitive guide to the art and business of music production. Author and producer Richard James Burgess distills this complex field by defining the distinct roles of a music producer. The first part of the book outlines the underlying theory of the art of music production.
This guide is a gold mine of detailed advice, real life examples and options for any musician serious about a career as a performing artist. Offering an entrepreneurial approach, this book covers artist management, publicity, recordings, websites, fundraising, and freelancing, plus how to manage money, stress and time.
Allen prepares you for the realities of successfully directing the careers of talented performers in the high-risk, high-reward music business. You will learn to prepare yourself for a career in artist management - and then learn the tools to coach, lead, organize time, manage finances, market an artist, and carve out a successful career path for both yourself and your clients.
fascinating and accessible book about directing theatre, acting and the collaborative creative process. Writing clearly and passionately, Bogart speaks to a wide audience, from undergraduates to practitioners, and makes an invaluable contribution to the field tackling themes such as:.:.; intentionality.; inspiration.; why theatre matters.
Chair of the New York University's Tisch School of the Arts, Dramatic Writing Program and mentor to such theatre figures as Neil LaBute, Kenneth Lonergan, Doug Wright, and George Wolfe, Janet Neipris distills a career's worth of wisdom, advice, and encouragement in these collected lectures and essays for every playwriting student and practicing playwright. With her gift for succinct and practical instruction, she lays out the questions (and answers) that face every dramatic writer.
Having been at the forefront of the American theatre for the duration of his illustrious career, Robert Brustein has long been a mentor to many of today's most accomplished actors. Here, for the first time, he offers both sage advice and hard-earned wisdom for performers on every stage and screen, and at any level of experience. Letters to a Young Actor promised not only to inspire the multitudes of struggling actors out there pounding the pavement, but also to reinvigorate the art of acting itself."
Essential reading for any young actor'' Dame Maggie Smith Competition for acting work is fierce and talent is not necessarily enough. Actors need all the help they can get with all aspects of the profession. Now in its fifth edition, completely revised and updated, this practical, comprehensive guide contains invaluable information and advice to enable actors to succeed in the business. Written with honesty, humour and thoroughness, An Actor''s Guide to Getting Work draws on the author''s rich experience in the field to offer advice to both the novice and the seasoned performer.
Theater Careers is designed to empower aspiring theater professionals to make savvy, informed decisions through a concise overview of how to prepare for and find work in the theater business. Tim Donahue and Jim Patterson offer well-researched information on various professions, salary ranges, educational and experience requirements, and other facets certain to enlighten students contemplating a theater career, as well as inform counselors, teachers, and parents of available opportunities and the demands of each path.
Worried about short rehearsal time? Think that fluffing your lines will be the end of your career? Are you afraid you'll be typecast? Is there such a thing as acting too much? How should a stage actor adjust performance for a camera? And how should an actor behave backstage?The Actor's Survival Handbook gives you answers to all these questions and many more.
Acting for the Stage is a highly accessible guide to the business of theater acting, written for those interested in pursuing acting as a profession. This book is a collection of essays by and interviews with talented artists and businesspeople who have built successful careers in the theater; it’s a goldmine of career advice that might take years to find on your own. Herein, the myths around professional acting are dispelled, and the mysteries revealed. Acting for the Stage illuminates practical strategies to help you build a life as a theater professional and find financial rewards and creative fulfillment in the process.