LibGuides: Neuroscience Qual Spring 2025: Finding Articles and E-Books

Finding articles

Finding articles in these databases can take time, so try searching by keyword or author to start. Limiting your results by type, (i.e review articles), date, or subject is another way to refine your search. To save time you can read the abstract to decide whether an article is relevant or not.

Primary source literature in the sciences:

documents the results of original research
is written by those who have conducted the research
includes firsthand information about their methodologies, data, results, or conclusions.

Secondary source literature in the sciences:

summarizes, compares, critiques, or interprets the primary literature.

Core Databases

Scopus
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

PubMed
Covers the international literature on the biomedical sciences, including the the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine. Can be searched interactively with other NCBI databases, including PubMedCentral and PubBooks.
PsycINFO
A collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts that offers a broad view of the field of Psychology but is also relevant to related disciplines. Includes some full text.

Related Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Provides access to more than 950 journals published in the U.S. and abroad. The database also covers conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters. Formerly Lexis Nexis Environmental.

Additional Databases

Criminal Justice Database
This database contains scholarly and trade journal articles covering criminology and criminal justice.
ERIC
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database provides access to educational-related literature including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
JSTOR
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
Periodicals Index Online
Includes citations to articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present)
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
Social Sciences Abstracts (1983 - Present)
Articles from major English language journals in the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - Present)
Journal articles, books, reviews, and conference papers in the fields of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Preprints and Grey Literature

bioRxiv
A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences from CSHP.
NaturePrecedeings
SpringerNature's preprint server for the Life Sciences.

WorldWideScience.org
One-stop searching of national and international databases of government-sponsored scientific research.

Finding eBooks

PubMed Bookshelf
A great collection of freely available online texts (esp. genetics, cell & microbiology)
Springer Books Online
More than 100k science and math related ebooks. All of the books are accessible via the library catalog or directly from the website.
Ebsco Science eBooks
More than 500 generalist science ebooks.
Proquest Science ebooks
More than 14k science related ebooks subscribed to by the library. Search for titles, or use Browse Subjects, Science