LibGuides: Political Science 382 Body Politics: Finding Journal Articles

Reed Library Catalog

In the Library Catalog, you can search Reed and Summit (Pacific Northwest college and university libraries) simultaneously.

Choose "Reed Library" to limit your search to books and media at Reed.
Choose "Reed + Summit" to find and request items from Reed and Summit Libraries.
Choose "Reed + Summit + Articles" to access thousands of journal article links, along with Reed and Summit items.

To find materials beyond Reed and Summit libraries, you can search WorldCat. This expands your search to libraries worldwide and allows you to request materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Getting Articles

Many library databases include information to help you locate articles in the academic literature, but they may not include the full text of the article itself. The library offers two services to help you make the connection from these databases to the article you need:

Reed FullText link in the database. Most Reed databases include link that says "Check Reed FullText" or something similarly. Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for.
Interlibrary Loan Request -- ILLIAD. Log into ILLIAD with your Reed network ID and password to request journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for viewing, usually within 1-2 weeks.

Finding Journal Articles

Use one of these general databases to locate articles on your topic.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Political Science Specific Resources

Annual Review of Political Science (1998 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature in political science.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Political Science 2009 - 2024 This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online is a series of handbooks of review essays written by leading scholars in different subject areas. Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.