LibGuides: History: Latin and Hispanic America: Secondary Sources

Article Databases

Looking for articles? Check out the LibKey Guide to get the most seamless access to content.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, documents, literary works about Central and South America throughout the world.
Historical Abstracts (1954 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Index, with abstracts, to research in world history (excluding North America) from 1450 through the 20th Century. For North American history use America: History and Life.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals such as the Hispanic American Historical Review. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Browse the Latin American Studies and Latino Studies subject areas to see regularly updated bibliographies by leading experts.
PAIS Index (1915 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Covers public affairs issues through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Finding and Getting Books

The Reed Library Catalog search box includes content from the Reed library catalog, Summit (the Pacific Northwest libraries' shared catalog) and many article databases. Note that not all of the articles and content that we have access to is discoverable in the catalog search alone.

Start with a keyword search then use the "facets" on the left side of the screen to make your search more relevant.

Look for subject links, important clues to relevant search terms that the catalog uses for your topic. These will lead you to more comprehensive search results.
Use the information in the detailed record to help you decide if the book will be useful. This includes book reviews and cover art.

Getting the books you find:

If you need help finding the location of a book in the Reed Library, ask for assistance at the Reference Desk or Circulation Desk. We are here to help! If you prefer finding things on your own, the library map will help.

If you need a book that is already checked out, you can order another copy from Summit (if available) or place a hold on it at the Circulation Desk. If you need it sooner than its due date and it has been on loan for at least two weeks, you may request its recall by emailing or dropping by the Circulation Desk.

Getting Journal Articles

Library databases can be full-text where PDFs are included in the article citation or Indexes where need to locate articles other ways since the PDF is not linked.

The library offers services to help you make the connection from these Index databases to the article you need:

Reed full-text link in the database. Look for the "Check Reed full-text" link and click to check Reed's holdings for the article.
LibKey is another system that integrates into the catalog to provide instant access to PDFs. You can also install LibKey Nomad in your browser to access library content on the open web.
If the library doesn't provide access the article you're looking for, try Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Log in with your Reed network ID and password to request articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is ready.
***Always remember to look up the Journal Title in the library catalog before requesting something via ILL.***