LibGuides: Sociology: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

A literature review on any topic begins with a thorough search for books using the library catalog. But in order to conduct a more thorough search, including the journal literature and other source materials, more tools are needed. These sources are especially useful for students of sociology.

Annual Review of Sociology (1930 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature in sociology.

Contemporary Sociology
A journal of review essays and short book reviews, organized by twelve broad categories (e.g., ideology and cultural production; social control and law; inequalities). The review essays generally cover one or more books by a leading author compare two or three books on a topic, or present a symposium by a number of authors on an important book, topic or debate in sociology.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
Social Sciences Abstracts (1983 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Articles from major English language journals in the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - Present) This link opens in a new window
The primary research database for sociologists is an important research tool for cultural anthropologists as well. Abstracts of scholarly articles, book reviews, and conference papers.
Coverage Dates: 1952 - Present

General Electronic Collections

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This electronic archive of essential academic journals includes several major journals from the field of sociology. Current issues of journals are not included in JSTOR.
Coverage Dates: 1800 - Varies
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.