LibGuides: Russian Thesis Guide: Reference

Reference Resources

Reference resources provide abbreviated information on a topic - dictionaries, encyclopedias, topical reference books. They are a good starting place for broad knowledge, terminology, and bibliographies. In addition to the electronic resources below, check out these print resources located in the library reference room.

Oxford Guide to Countries of the World
This invaluable global handbook provides a wealth of information for every country in the world. Each entry gives a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. In addition, for each country there is a clear map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. Invaluable supplementary material includes detailed indicator tables showing income and poverty, health and population etc, and list of international organizations, such as the EU and the African Union, with essential information about these groupings.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict (Second Edition)
Academic articles on political and social violence and alternatives to violence.
Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics (Second Edition)
Entries for the core areas of linguistics including syntax, phonetics, and phonology, it also covers related topics such as anthropology, psychology, religion, medicine, and law.
Encyclopedia of Religion
A classic text in the study of religion and features broad essays with substantial detail and bibliographies.
Coverage Dates: -

Gale eBooks (formerly Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
Coverage Dates: -
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
Indexing for books, journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, production documents, etc., relating to theatre and dance.
Coverage Dates: -
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Includes regularly updated bibliographies by leading experts.
Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory (Ulrichsweb) This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and publisher information for more than 300,000 periodicals from around the world.
Coverage Dates: -
Encyclopedia of Associations -- International This link opens in a new window
Provides contact information and descriptions for multinational and national groups based throughout the world, as well as multinational associations headquartered in the U.S.
Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown