LibGuides: Chemistry: Resources by Subject

Analytical Chemistry

Dean's Analytical Chemistry Handbook (Ref QD78 .P37 2004)
A useful resource for the analytical chemist. It features worked examples, troubleshooting tips, and numerous tables and charts. It includes three major chapters on Analysis of Indoor Air, Analysis of Pesticides and Analysis of Trace Metals.
Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis (Ref QD78 .B78 2011)

Biochemistry

Enzyme Nomenclature
Revision of the 1984 Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Includes standard abbreviations and references.
The Enzyme Reference
Standard name, class, EC number, reaction information for classified and some unclassified enzymes. Includes over 6500 enzyme-catalyzed reactions with citations to the original paper and review articles, when available.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Brief definitions of terms (including acronyms and abbreviations). Includes some structures.

General

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
The reference source for chemical and physical data--constants, properties, etc.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Comprehensive encyclopedia covering chemical technology, industrial processes and applications.
NIST Chemistry Web Book
Thermodynamic and ion-energetics data. Searchable by name, formula, and CAS number.

Inorganic Chemistry

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Comprehensive coverage of inorganic chemistry and related topics. The 8-volume set includes organometallic, bioinorganic, and physical and theoretical topics, as relevant.

Laboratory/Safety

Chemical Technicians' Ready Reference Handbook
QD61 .S58 1996
Covers all types of basic laboratory techniques, procedures, equipment, etc.

CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety
QD51 .C73 1990
Describes laboratory safety procedures and guidelines in accordance with government regulations.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials

Oversize T55.3 .H3 L494 2004
Hazard information on laboratory and industrial materials including toxicity, carcinogenicity, and mutagenecity; CA registry number and synonym cross-indexes.

Organic Chemistry

Comprehensive Organic Synthesis: Selectivity, Strategy, and Efficiency in Modern Organic Chemistry
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry: The Synthesis, Reactions, and Structures of Organometallic Compounds
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry II: A Review of the Literature 1982-1994
Surveys of research conducted in the particular areas. Each title is a multi-volume set with it’s own index.
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (EROS)

Physical Chemistry

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Comprehensive encyclopedia covering chemical technology, industrial processes and applications.
NIST Chemistry Web Book
Thermodynamic and ion-energetics data. Searchable by name, formula, and CAS number.

Spectroscopy

The Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra    Ref QD96.I5 P66 1985
Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance     Ref QC762 .E53 1995
The Handbook of Infrared and Raman Spectra of Inorganic Compounds and Organic Salts     Ref QC457 .N927 1997
Practical Handbook of Spectroscopy     Ref QD95 .P73 1991
The Sadtler Handbook of Infrared Spectra     Ref QC453 .S73 1978

Chemistry

Science Librarian