LibGuides: History: 18th and 19th Century Europe: Secondary Sources: Articles

Getting Journal Articles

Many library databases include information to help you locate articles in the academic literature, but they may not include the full text of the article itself.

Many of our databases are full-text and include links that say something like "Check Reed full-text." Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for. Our new LibKey software also integrates in the catalog or your browser to help locate articles.

Interlibrary Loan Request — ILLIAD . Log into this service with your Reed network ID and password to request for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available.

Article Databases

Historical Abstracts (1954 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Index, with abstracts, to research in world history (excluding North America) from 1450 through the 20th Century. For North American history use America: History and Life.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.