LibGuides: History: 18th and 19th Century Europe: Background Information

Getting Started with Background Information

There are many handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias that provide basic information for historical studies. If you are selecting a topic, build a framework by consulting definitions or a quick overview found in these resources and then focus on your topic by searching for more specific information. Find these materials online (sources to use to get started are in the box below) and in the stacks. (Call number "D" = general and European history)

Background Information

Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Over 200 titles in a variety of disciplines. Includes the Cambridge History of Science series.
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text access to "Cambridge companion to. . ." series of books in the areas of literature, music, classics, philosophy, religion, and culture.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains facts, figures, definitions, and translations in most fields, from art and architecture to science.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
Gale eBooks (formerly Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.