A collection of reports documenting ninety-six elections in thirty-eight countries. During elections, the observers monitor voting and counting and remain after the ballots have been counted to monitor vote tabulation.This information is then summarized into reports, often including data on results and voter turnout.
Provided by the Institute of Political Science at the University of Bern in Germany. Part 1 has dates of national parliamentary elections, voter turnout, and share of votes by party for 23 OECD countries from 1960-2009. Part 2 has election dates and turnout for parliamentary and presidential elections in 28 post-Communist countries from 1989-2006. Parts 1 and 2 also contains some additional demographic, socio- and economic variables. Part 3 combines 1 and 2 for 35 OECD and/or EU countries, 1990-2010. This data set is suited for cross national, longitudinal and pooled time series analyses.
Provides access to comprehensive datasets of constituency election results in over ninety countries throughout the world. The data includes votes won by very small parties, independents, and candidate names that are often difficult to locate. This data will eventually be incorporated into the CLEA database linked above but, for now, search both sites.
This site offers detailed national and local election statistics, including sections dedicated to election results and electoral systems in diverse countries around the world. The site also has a useful directory of other election resources available on the web and maintains a blog that covers key elections worldwide.
A collection of electronic files containing data on presidential and national legislative election results from 134 countries that have met a minimum threshold of democratic performance as measured by Freedom House and the University of Maryland Polity III / IV rankings. The site contains results back to 1974.
A website that includes a freely download data set created by Dr. Staffan I. Lindberg in the Department of Political Science and the Center for African Studies at the University of Florida. Database can be downloaded in Stata and SPSS portable formats. Data sets are at the bottom of the web page.
This site provides access to election results on a regional level for European countries. The archive covers the period from 1990 until present and publishes results from parliamentary elections, European Parliament elections, presidential elections, as well as EU-related referendums for a total of 35 European countries. Regional election results are presented according to the Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS), level 1 to 3. Data are collected from national election authorities, national statistical agencies, and other official sources.
Provides information on the results of both national and sub-national elections around the world presented at two levels of analysis: results of elections within a country as a whole or within particular constituencies or districts of a country. All parties are included in the database regardless of the number of votes that they won. The data are based on countries' official election results and are accessible as spreadsheets, tables, and GIS maps.
A database unifying data from a variety of sources related to voter turnout, issues of direct democracy, gender quotas, political finance, electoral justice, and voting from abroad, electoral system design for countries around the world. Information on institutions and/or bodies responsible for managing elections is being developed.
Produced by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), an international nonprofit organization dedicated to strengthening electoral democracy, this is a comprehensive resource of verified election information that includes data on national elections around the world, including detailed election results and voter turnout as well as information on sub-national elections of high interest, political parties and candidates, referendum provisions, political institutions and electoral systems, and news on election-related laws and developments around the world.
The focus of the collection is to provide access to electoral data, household survey microdata, and data relevant to social policy evaluation relevant to Latin American research, policy analysis, and teaching. Data sets and related information can be downloaded from the LAEDA collection in the University of Texas Digital Repository (UTDR).
Consists of a series of volumes on selected Latin American countries that provide chronologies of elections since independence at the municipal, state, and federal levels and lists sources of statistics for each election as identified. The statistics themselves are not reproduced on this site except occasionally for national-level results of presidential elections, seats won in congressional elections, or numbers of municipalities won by specific parties. Also included is information on events affecting election outcomes; the emergence and development of political parties; electoral code changes; and, on the roles of women, indigenous populations, and religious organizations in each country's electoral politics. Data is available from the early nineteenth century to about 2000 [data for Dominican Republic begins in 1791].
Archive of election data created and maintained by Dr. Adam Carr, a political and social activist in Australia, this is promoted to be the largest, most comprehensive and most up-to-date archive of electoral information in the world, with election statistics from 182 countries. Very good site to begin ones search for information.
A non-partisan and neutral blog covering major world elections and referendums as well as discussions on matters directly related to elections, electoral systems, and voting behavior. Entries are posted monthly beginning in October 2008.