Theatre 221 - History of Clothing: Clothing as Communication and Rebellion

Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s. Issues include the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."

Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global reaction to major protest and reform movements.

Locate documentary photography by placing artsubject:(Documentary photography) in the search box.

AKA Alexander Street Video. Access to documentaries. Free text search or select Collection to limit to video category such as "PBS" or "World Newsreels:" From a Collection you can filter further to browse, or search within.

Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Overal 300 volumes in 10 subject areas including history, classics, literature, philosophy, and religion.

Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.