Creative Writing

Download a brief history of Creative Writing at Reed College. The list includes creative writing faculty, visiting writers and poets/writers-in-residence, literary events and speakers, creative theses, literary publications, and Creative Writing courses offered. You can also look at the Special Collections and Archives online collection. 

Primary Resource Papers related to creative writing held in Reed's special collections & archives:


Barnard, Mary '32 [1909-2002]  Mary's papers came to Reed through her executor, Betty Bell '87 MALS.  They consist of most of her correspondence, including that with her publishers and copies of the letters from Ezra Pound, and many of her original manuscripts.  Her library was also received and all inscribed works remain together in special collections.

Eddings, David '54 [1931-2009]  Reed holds the entire papers of this major fantasy author including all versions--outlines, holograph manuscripts, typescripts, revisions, and proofs--for each of his 24 fantasy and 3 non-fantasy novels.  Includes correspondence, diaries, hand-drawn maps, and dustjackets. 

Reynolds, Lloyd J. [1902-1978] professor 1929-1969]  Reed holds all Reynolds' correspondence files, teaching materials, 'scribble' books, calligraphic jobs and broadsides, hand-made bookplates, photographs, and personal library.  The correspondence includes letters from Whalen, Snyder, and Barnard.

Snyder, Gary '51 [1930-   ]  Only those papers held by Snyder's mother, Lois Snyder Hennessy, are held at Reed.  These include his correspondence to her and a few photographs, with additional images taken by Carol Baker Brown and John Budan.

Whalen, Philip '51 [1923-2002]  The complete correspondence written to Philip Whalen up to 1965 was given to Reed by Whalen; this includes many other Beat Poets such as Gary Snyder, Lew Welch, Diane DiPrema, Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, Richard Brautigan, Gregory Corso, and Michael McClure.  The collection also contains clippings, reviews, and some original manuscripts.