Skip to main content

A guide with tips and videos to improve your database searching.

What is SciFinder?

SciFinder is a research tool that covers biochemical, chemical, chemical engineering, medical, and other related information.  It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, and a substance database.

Sign up for SciFinder

Access for SciFinder is restricted to the Reed community for academic use only. One-time registration is required to create a personal login ID. SciFinder is not available for public patrons. 

Coverage

Chemical AbstractsPlus (CA Plus)

Literature from 1907 to the present plus selected pre-1907 references. Over 1,500 core chemical journals are included, as well as patents, books, conference proceedings, etc. 

 

MEDLINE

Biomedical literature from more than 4,780 journals and 70 countries, covering literature from 1950 to the present. MEDLINE is also available through PubMed

 

CAS Registry

Chemicals and biochemical sequences searchable by name, number, formula, or structure, with experimental and predicted property data.

 

CASReact

Reaction information for single- and multiple-step reactions

 

CHEMCATS

Chemical source information, including supplier addresses and pricing information derived from current chemical catalogs and libraries, retrieved for individual substances.

 

CHEMLIST

Regulatory information records from 1979 to the present, including substance identity information, inventory status, sources, and compliance information.

SciFinder Videos

Getting Help

CAS Customer Center:

Hours: 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. Monday - Friday, U.S. Eastern Time
Option 2: General information or account-related questions*
Option 3: Assistance with search strategies, database content or using a product
Option 4: Technical assistance with software setup, installation and configuration
Phone: 1-800-753-4227 (North America) +1-614-447-3731 (outside North America)
Fax: 1-614-447-3751
E-mail: help@cas.org