LibGuides: French Literature: Journal Articles & Books

Interdisciplinary Resources

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This electronic archive of essential academic journals includes several major journals from the field of French literary studies.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.

Articles in French Literature

CAIRN This link opens in a new window
French language journals articles and magazines in the social sciences and humanities. Also includes full text access to selected French language reference works.
Classiques Garnier Bibliotheque des Lettres This link opens in a new window
Full text access to French and Francophone literature from the middle ages to the twentieth century.

French Literature Bibliographies @ Reed
Online and print bibliographies related to French Literature available at Reed Library.

Find Books

Search the library catalog to find available books:

Limit your search to Reed Library using the pull-down menu to the right of the search bar. To find materials available to request from other institutions in the Northwest region, select Reed + Summit.
Filter your results further using the following Resource Type facets in the left sidebar of your search results: Books and/or eBooks

To find materials beyond Reed and Summit libraries, search WorldCat. This expands your search to libraries worldwide and allows you to request materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Advanced Tips

Have a citation for a journal article (for example, one you found in a book or at the end of an article, or got from a professor) and want to access the article itself? Since many individual journal articles are not listed in the library catalog, search for the title of the journal, using the pull-down menu to the right of the search box to limit your search to Reed Library. Your search results will include any print or electronic holdings for the journal you need. If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can request it from Interlibrary Loan.

Locating bibliographies relating to your research topic is often a good way to save yourself time and effort. You can find bibliographies at the end of most encyclopedia, journal, and even Wikipedia articles. Also, check out the French Literature Bibliographies link under Articles in French Literature above, as well as the resources on the Dictionaries & Encyclopedias page of this guide.