To get started with research, find definitive information on a subject, or start developing a topic, consider using a reference resource. Reference resources such as guides, companions, handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias provide background information on topics and are considered scholarly, peer-reviewed, and appropriate to cite in a research project. They often include bibliographies that can lead you to other good sources and they can give you ideas for narrowing or focusing your topic. Always use these resources instead of Wikipedia in research papers.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by 
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
The Oxford Classical DictionarySearch and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by 
The Harlem Renaissance : a Gale critical companion by Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
