LibGuides: Humanities 210: Articles

Humanities Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Replaces Humanities Abstracts. Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published source. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for articles from scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984) This link opens in a new window
Indexes English language arts periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, and more. (1929-1984)
Philosopher's Index (1940 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of journals and books in Philosophy and related fields, monitoring over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly. For many years, the standard index to the philosophical literature.

Need More Help?

When you're looking for articles relating to a specific topic, Reed's journal article databases are often a good place to begin.

Find an interesting citation in one of our databases? Citations in Reed's databases will usually include a link to access the full text of the article or find a print copy. See this example.

What if you have a citation for a journal article (for example, one you found in a book or got from a professor) and want to access the article itself? Since many individual journal articles are not listed in the library catalog, search for the title of the journal in the library catalog. Use the pulldown menu to the right of the search box to limit your search to "Reed Library Only." Your search results will include any print or electronic holdings for the journal you need. If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can request it from Interlibrary loan.