LibGuides: Soc 211: Introduction to Sociology: Sociology Resources

Getting Articles

Many library databases include information to help you locate articles in the academic literature, but they may not include the full text of the article itself. The library offers two services to help you make the connection from these databases to the article you need:

Reed FullText link in the database. Most Reed databases include link that says "Check Reed FullText" or something similarly. Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for.
Interlibrary Loan Request — ILLIAD. Log into this service with your Reed network ID and password to request journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for viewing, usually within a week.

Key Sociology Journals

Annual Review of Sociology (1930 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature in sociology.

American Sociological Review
The American Sociological Review is the flagship journal of the American Sociological Association (ASA). The ASA founded this journal in 1936 (volume 1) with the mission to publish original works of interest to the sociology discipline in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance our understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations. Coverage: 1936 - Present.
American Journal of Sociology
Established in 1895 as the first U.S. scholarly journal in its field, American Journal of Sociology remains a leading voice for analysis and research in the social sciences. Coverage: 1895 - Present.
Social Forces
Founded in 1922, Social Forces is a renowned journal of sociological research associated with the Southern Sociological Society. It highlights sociological inquiry but also explores realms shared with social psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics. Coverage: 1922 - Present.
Gender & Society
Gender & Society (GENDSOC) is a peer-reviewed journal, focused on the study of gender. It is the official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society, and was founded in 1987 as an outlet for feminist social science. Coverage: 1987 - Present.

General Sources

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles.