This is the "Get Started" page of the "Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Starting points for research in art
Last Updated: Nov 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.reed.edu/art Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian

Profile Image
Brooke Sansosti
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Office: L42
Phone: 503.517.7409
Send Email
Office Hours:
Office hours are by appointment: M,T,R,F standard hours and W from 5-8pm.

Key Resources: Electronic

Many of the library's electronic resources are available from off campus by Reed community members.  To access resources from off campus you will need to set up your web browser to prompt you for your network username and password when you access Reed's resources remotely.  You will need to use these instructions for setting up the Automatic Proxy.

  • Oxford Art Online
    Use this site to access Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. The Grove Dictionary of Art is also in Reference, N31 .D5 1996.
  • Credo Reference
    Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
  • Oxford Reference Online for Art and Architecture
    A basic starting point that includes reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions) about art, artists, and art terms.
  • Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
    A timeline of art history from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
  • Mother of All Art & Art History Links Pages
    University of Michigan's compilation of art history departments, research resources, image collections, museums, and online exhibitions.

Key Resources: Print

Specialized resources

When you're looking for information about a particular work, a catalogue raisonne can be a good place to start.  Catalogues raisonnes list all known works by a given artist and include a picture of each art work, as well as critical commentary and a bibliography.  Reed holds catalogues raisonnes for many different artists; you can find them by searching the catalog for '[artist name] catalogue raisonne.'  IFAR has created an online database of curent and in production catalogue raisonnes to search.

Exhibition catalogs also often contain helpful information on a particular artwork, such as critical commentary or a bibliography.  You can locate exhibition catalogs in the catalog by searching for '[artist name] exhibitions.'

If you know which museum holds a particular artwork, permanent holdings catalogs are another good place to check.  Like a catalogue raisonne, a permanent holdings catalog will generally include a picture of the art work, critical commentary and a bibliography.  Find permanent holdings catalogs in the catalog by searching for '[name of museum] catalogs'

Online catalogs:

Reed College | Phone: 503-771-1112 | Fax: 503-777-7769 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip