1. Do I need copyright permission?
The use of screenplays, complete or substantial portions of texts, images (photos, illustrations, maps, etc.), and other similar works may require permission from the copyright holder. It is your responsibility to ensure you have the required permissions before using this content. Acknowledgment of formal permission should be clearly stated in the thesis but may be done in a variety of ways depending on the citation style you use.
Questions about copyright? See our Copyright Help for Theses guide or Ask a Librarian.
2. What citation/formatting style should I use?
Some disciplines have standard style manuals. Consult your adviser to determine which style is appropriate.
Whichever style manual you use, be consistent.
The style manual used, including footnotes or endnotes, style of bibliographic citations, etc. is up to your department and not dependent on library approval.
3. What if I need an extension?
If you need to take a weekend or summer extension you must contact the Registrar.
4. What happens to my thesis after submission?
The library will print two copies of each thesis over the summer, acquire approval signatures from your adviser and add it to the library catalog. One copy will be added to the thesis tower and another will be placed in Reed College Special Collections and Archives.
The catalog record for your thesis will include your name, thesis title, department/program, and your thesis adviser. This basic information will be publicly available in Reed Library's catalog, Summit, and other networks of library catalogs like WorldCat.org.
If you have opted to also add your thesis to the Reed College Electronic Theses digital collection then a PDF and any associated files will also be uploaded there.
5. Do I have to pay for the two print copies for the library?
Starting with Spring 2020 submissions, the library will be covering the cost of printing and binding.
6. How can I get copies printed for my adviser, friends and family?
Contact Print Services.
1. Do I have to add my thesis to the electronic archive?
Adding your thesis to the electronic archive is voluntary. If you are unsure about submitting, ask your adviser.
2. When do I upload my thesis?
During final submission you will be asked to choose whether to also add your thesis to the electronic archive. If you opt out at this time you may still submit your completed thesis later, even after you graduate. Submissions are welcome any time.
Alumni can contribute to the archive by visiting our Online Submission Portal. Alumni will need to set up an alumni Kerberos account to access the portal. Instructions on doing that are available on the Alumni Programs website.
3. How do I save my document as a PDF?
Instructions for Mac and Windows are available here.
4. What are accompanying materials and how do I submit them?
You can submit accompanying files such as images, audio, data, and video in addition to your thesis document. They should be compressed into a separate, single zip file. You will need to create a zip file even if you are just submitting one single accompanying file.
Mac: Highlight the file(s) you wish to zip, go to the File menu (or right-click) and select the option to “Compress” items. The zip file “Archive.zip” will appear in the same directory as the files you selected to compress.
Windows: Highlight the file(s) you wish to zip, right-click and select Send to>Compressed (zipped) folder. The zip file will appear in the same directory as the files you selected to compress
5. What's a copyright clearance statement?
If your thesis incorporates copyrighted material, (images, photographs, figures, data, illustrations, etc. not created by you), you’ll need to confirm that you have sought permission or are claiming fair use. For more information consult the Copyright Help for Theses guide or contact a reference librarian for help.
6. What are the terms of access for the eTheses archive?
You’ll be asked to choose the terms of access when you submit your thesis. Access to the etheses is currently limited to current Reed students, faculty, staff, and alumni or from computers on campus. The online archive may eventually become a public collection but we will not include your thesis unless you have given us permission to do so. Allowing public access allows you to easily access your thesis after graduation and will allow other researchers to benefit from your research.
7. Can I change the terms of access after submission?
If you wish to change the terms of access for your theses (e.g. from Reed-access-only to public, or vice versa), email us and we can change your thesis status.
8. I submitted my thesis, but I don't see it in Reed Digital Collections.
The library will load the theses as quickly as possible, but there will typically be lag time between submission and access.
9. I made a revision to my thesis after I contributed it to the archive, can I resubmit it?
You may not resubmit your thesis. If you have questions or wish to change the terms of access for your, please contact us.
10. Will my thesis be full text searchable?
Yes! Some longer theses may not be 100% full text searchable, but a majority of the document will be indexed.
11. I have another question but don't see the answer here.
Contact us at etheses@lists.reed.edu.
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
