Electronic Resources for Latinx Studies

Asela Torres Photography Collection

A selection of photographs of Cuban and Hispanic performing artists in Miami as captured by photographer Asela Torres

Chicago Ethnic Arts Project Collection

The collection consists of approximately 344 sound recordings, 14,141 photographs, 269 folders of manuscript materials, 2 videorecordings, publications, ephemera, administrative files, and field notes produced and collected during the 1977 Chicago Ethnic Arts Project field survey from 1976-1981; but primarily during fieldwork conducted by fourteen folklorists directed by the American Folklife Center in 1977. Recordings and Photographs

California Cultures: Hispanic Americans (University of California)

Photo exhibitions trace the history of Hispanic Americans in California from the Mission system and Californios into the 20th century: Mexican immigration into California, the farmworkers' labor struggles, and the Chicano Civil Rights movement and La Raza and cultural art.

Chicano/Latino digital art online via Calisphere!

Thousands of digital cultural and visual arts images available for online viewing through the California Digital Library.

Chicano Studies Research Center (UCLA)

Several digital collection of photographs are available

Documents of 20th-Century Latin American & Latino Art (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston)

The ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.

Hispanic/Latino Collections (Historical Society of Pennsylvania)

These collections consist of personal letters, diaries, photographs, and scrapbooks of immigrant families; the financial records, correspondence, and advertising of businesses; the legal, civic, and organizational records of advocacy groups; the research files of scholars studying specific communities; as well as photographs, prints, posters and broadsides; and in some cases, samples of published and unpublished literature, art, and music.

Library of Congress (Images and Maps)

To search photographs, maps, etc. use the pull down menu to select the format you would like to search.

NYPL Digital Collections Beta

Contains almost 800,000 images from the New York Public Library's Collections, many on Caribbean topics.

Puerto Rican Migration to the US (DPLA)

Photos, maps, newspaper articles and reports

Smithsonian Latino Collections

The Molina Family Latino Gallery will tell U.S. history from the perspectives of the diverse Latinas/os who lived it. 

The United Farm Workers and the Delano Grape Strike (DPLA)

Documents, photographs, and promotional materials that explore the events of the Delano Grape Strike and the formation of the United Farm Workers. Time period: Postwar United States (1945 to early 1970s).

Survey of Archives of Latino and Latin American Art (MoMA)

In July 2003 the Metropolitan New York Library Council (METRO) sub-contracted The Museum of Modern Art Library to survey archives documenting Latino art in greater New York as part of METRO's Documentary Heritage Project.