Electronic Resources for Latinx Studies

Latin America & Iberia Database 

This database contains articles from full-text academic journals published in Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. The subjects include business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

LAPOP (Latin American Public Opinion Project) 

Over thirty years of surveys of public opinion in the Americas. Includes the AmericasBarometer survey, the only scientifically rigorous comparative survey that covers 34 nations including all of North, Central, and South America, as well as a significant number of countries in the Caribbean.

Sabin Americana, (1500 - 1926) 

Primary sources about the Americas published throughout the world. Includes books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents and provides original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.

Chicano Civil Rights Movement 

Resources from the Library of Congress

Cesar Chavez and United Farm Workers (FBI)

The FBI investigation of Mr. Chavez and his organization based on allegations in 1965 that he and others within the organization had communist affiliations.

Farmworker Movement Documentation Project : Cesar Chavez, The Farmworker Movement: 1962-1993.

Primary source accounts: photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and historical documents from the United Farm Worker Delano Grape Strikers and the UFW Volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement. This site is now being presented and preserved by The Library, University of California San Diego. As of April 10, 2014, there is still some site content and functionality that is being migrated from its original location. We anticipate this work to be completed in the next few months.

Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s

Illuminates the conflict in American history between the need of society to protect basic freedoms and the equally legitimate need to protect itself from genuine threats to its security and existence. Organized alphabetically by organization, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, cultural, and economic issue

National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985

This collection reproduces correspondence, reports, speeches, minutes; included are materials relating to the farm workers, poverty programs, Public Law 78, Braceros, labor camps, the United Farm Workers Union and the Delano Grape Strike.

UnidosUS (formerly National Council of La Raza)

Founded in 1968, NCLR (now UnidosUS) is the largest national Hispanic civil rights and advocacy organization in the United States, working to improve opportunities for Hispanic Americans.

ALZAR - Academic Latino/a Zone of Activism and Research Archival Collections 

Portal to primary research materials dealing with Latino(a)s in the U.S. Includes significant collections at UCLA, Berkeley, University of Texas at Austin, and University of Miami.

Benson Latin American Collection - University of Texas Libraries

Located at the University of Texas at Austin, the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection is one of the premiere libraries in the world focused on Latin America and Latin@ Studies.

Calisphere

University of California's free public gateway to a More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts 

Center for Latin American & Latino Studies (American University)

The Center for Latin American & Latino Studies was established at American University in Washington, D.C. in January 2010. It is a campus-wide initiative advancing and disseminating state-of-the-art research.

Center for Latino Research (DePaul University)

Founded in 1985, DePaul University's Center for Latino Research is a space dedicated to enriching knowledge and understanding of Latino community and experience. Through scholarly study in Chicago and other urban communities, through invited speakers from various regions of the U.S. and Latin America, CLR strives to promote learning opportunities for students, and collaborations between community and academia.

Center for Mexican American Studies (UT Austin)

The Center for Mexican American Studies (CMAS) is a unit within the College of Liberal Arts at The University of Texas at Austin. Since 1970, the mission of CMAS has been to serve as a leader in the intellectual development of Mexican American Studies.

Centro de Estudios Puertorriqueños (Hunter College)

An introduction to the Center's collections - several digital collections are available.

Cuban Heritage Collection Digital Collections (U of Miami Libraries)

A large number of digital archives on all subjects.

Dominican Studies Institute - City University of New York (CUNY)

Founded in 1992 and housed at The City College of New York, the Dominican Studies Institute of the City University of New York (CUNY DSI) is the nation's first university-based research institute devoted to the study of people of Dominican descent in the United States and other parts of the world.

El Museo del Norte

In 2009, Maria Cotera, an associate professor in the Latina/o Studies Program at the University of Michigan - Ann Arbor, formed a partnership with Elena Herrada and Fronteras Norteñas, a Public History organization in Southwest Detroit. The result was a “museum without walls” where the community develops and curates exhibits, and teaches and shares with its members the history, art and culture of Latina/os in the Midwest.

Historical Puerto Rican Court Documents (UCONN)

Included are approx. 5000 documents dated between 1840s to the 1890s, many of which are from the Arecibo civil (corte de primera instancia) court districts, covering the full range of cases that might have been brought to civil courts in those times mainly disputes over economic holdings such as land disputes, sale of slaves, and similar materials. The collection includes court cases from the towns of Arecibo, Barceloneta, Camuy, Ciales, Hatillo, Manati, Morovis, Quebradillas, and Utuado.

Julian Samora Research Institute

Established in 1989 at Michigan State University, the Samora Institute is committed to the generation, transmission, and application of knowledge to serve the needs of Latino communities in the Midwest. The institute publishes empirical studies, theoretical analyses, and policy discussion papers that address the changing role of Latinos in relation to economic, political, religious, educational and social institutions.

LANIC: Hispanic/Latino Resources portal with links to a wide range of information on Chicano and Latino Studies, from the University of Texas at Austin.

LIN@R - Latino Information Network at Rutgers

A newly launched Latino-focused research center and think tank, LIN@R’s mission will be to provide empirically, reliable information that casts a fair light on the Latino experience in the United States via a combination of scholarly works, independent studies and journalistic stories.

Institute for Latino Studies (Notre Dame)

Created in 1999, the Institute for Latino Studies at the University of Notre Dame has played a vital role in fostering understanding of the US Latino experience. The Institute supports interdisciplinary initiatives in Latino studies as a key component of the Notre Dame's academic mission by advancing research, expanding knowledge, and strengthening community.