LibGuides: Soc 280 Social Movements: News Sources

Newspaper Research Guide

Newspapers Research Guide
This Newspaper research guide provides links to news databases offered by the Reed College Library and other News sources. Use the specialized Menu tabs to the left to find additional sources: Includes newspaper databases; regional, national, and international news sources; historical newspapers; and more.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis. A good source for current articles in major newspapers and for looking up information about companies, industries, and countries.
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s. Issues include the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
Communication Source
Articles on mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology.
Alternative Press Index (1991 - Present)
Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Black Life in America
Covers many categories such as slavery and flights to freedom, voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice and discrimination and activism and protest movements.
Access World News (1985 - present)
Full-text articles from over 2,600 U.S. and international newpapers, including the Oregonian and other regional papers. Includes Selected wire services, radio and television transcripts.