LibGuides: Soc 280 Social Movements: Finding Sociological Resources

Article Searching

A literature review on any topic begins with a thorough search for books using the library catalog. But in order to conduct a more thorough search, including the journal literature and other source materials, more tools are needed. These sources are especially useful for students of sociology.

Contemporary Sociology
A journal of review essays and short book reviews, organized by twelve broad categories (e.g., ideology and cultural production; social control and law; inequalities). The review essays generally cover one or more books by a leading author compare two or three books on a topic, or present a symposium by a number of authors on an important book, topic or debate in sociology.

Social Sciences Abstracts (1983 - Present)
Articles from major English language journals in the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - Present)
Journal articles, books, reviews, and conference papers in the fields of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

General Databases

ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
JSTOR
Full text archive of scholarly journals and primary sources in various disciplines. As of August 2024, the interdisciplinary library of images once known as Artstor has been completely incorporated within the JSTOR platform. Artstor images will appear in all searches, or you can use the Browse Images function.
Scopus
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Reference Books on Social Movements

The Blackwell Companion to Social Movements
The Blackwell Companion to Social Movements is a compilation of essays by internationally recognized scholars on an array of topics in the field of social movement studies; Maps the field, and helps situate the study of social movements within other disciplines.; Includes coverage of historical, political, and cultural contexts; leadership; organizational.
more...less...
CHAPTER 24
The Labor Movement in Motion (Pages: 555-575)
Rick Fantasia, Judith Stepan-Norris

CHAPTER 25
Feminism and the Women's Movement: A Global Perspective (Pages: 576-607)
Myra Marx Ferree, Carol McClurg Mueller

CHAPTER 26
Environmental Movements (Pages: 608-640)
Christopher Rootes

CHAPTER 27
Antiwar and Peace Movements (Pages: 641-665)
Sam Marullo, David S. Meyer

CHAPTER 28
Ethnic and Nationalist Social Movements (Pages: 666-693)
Susan Olzak

CHAPTER 29
Religious Movements (Pages: 694-716)
Fred Kniss, Gene Burns
Oxford Handbook on Social Movements
The Handbook presents a most updated and comprehensive exploration of social movement research. It not only maps, but also expands the field of social movement studies, taking stock of recent developments in cognate areas of studies, within and beyond sociology and political science.
more...less...
Part II Social Movements and Structural Processes

Historical Dynamics of Capitalism and Labor Movements
Beverly J. Silver and Şahan Savaş Karataşlı

Migration and Social Movements
Nina Eggert and Marco Giugni

Religious Revivalism and Social Movements
Lasse Lindekilde and Lene Kühle

Ethnicity, Nationalism, and Social Movements
Diego Muro

Urban Dynamics and Social Movements
Massimiliano Andretta, Gianni Piazza, and Anna Subirats

Demography and Social Movements
Jack A. Goldstone

Articles on Social Movements

Social activism in the United States Digital collection and primary sources
This article outlines some of the high-quality digital collections and primary source materials available online on the history of activism in the United States. This list is not exhaustive, but focuses on strong multimedia collections that can have applications as both resources for original research and use as educational materials for classroom instruction and discussion.