Materials held in Special Collections and Archives are often rare, unique, or fragile. For this reason, they are not available for checkout but may be viewed in the archives room (L014) on Lower Level 2 of the Reed College Library (take staircase D or lobby elevator).
Contacting the Archive through email (archives@reed.edu) beforehand to set up an appointment will save you time during your visit, but is not required. If you stop by anytime during operating hours we can pull materials for you.
Handling Materials
Help us ensure materials are preserved now and for centuries to come by following some rules on materials use and care:
Patrons can request copies of archival materials either remotely through email or in-person.
If you are visiting in person, patrons may take photos (with no flash) of most materials for personal use. Special Collections and Archives staff reserve the right to limit reproductions by patrons including but not limited to reasons concerning the condition of the material, privacy, or copyright status. It is the responsibility of the patron to research and obtain any necessary permissions to reprint, distribute, or publish materials from Special Collections and Archives. Please note that while we own the materials in our collections, we often do not own the copyright to these materials. Additionally, Special Collections and Archives staff are available to scan materials if the condition of the materials and copyright status allow us to do so. Scanners and copiers are not available for patron use.
One of the most common copy requests that we receive are for theses. We are more than happy to fulfill these requests, but we are unable to make copies of theses for anyone other than the copyright holder. If you would like a copy of your own thesis, please write to archives@reed.edu. The library can create a PDF (free), a photocopy ($10/thesis), or a bound photocopy ($20/thesis). A flat $5 fee will be added to cover shipping costs if the thesis is not picked up in person.
Please send payment as a check to:
Special Collections and Archives, attn. Tracy Drake
Reed College Library
3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard
Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
