Spanish Literature

The first comprehensive history of Spanish literature to be published in English since the 1970s. The essays cover the full range of Spanish poetry, prose, and theatre from the early Middle Ages to the present day. The volume concludes with a consideration of the influences of film and new media on modern Spanish literature.

This representative selection of Spanish literature from the twelfth to the seventeenth century provides a coherent study of full-length works rather than isolated remnants.

This collection of studies by 18 prominent theorists and critics offers a diverse panorama of the modern Spanish novel seen through the prism of Spain's recent political, cultural and ideological history.

Situates Spanish poetry in the context of European modernity to trace its trajectory from the symbolists to the postmodernists.

Spanish literature from a women’s studies perspective.

Covers 50 authors from the 14th Century to the early 20th Century from a feminist critical perspective.

Presents essays on the development of the modern Spanish novel from 1600 to the present. From Don Quijote and the picaresque novel, the essays focus on the question of invention and experiment. Includes a chronology and guide to further reading,

Contains essays that place Cervantes and his works in context. Entries include brief commentary on all known works by Cervantes, virtually all Cervantes' characters, and important figures from his times.

This text places major Latin American authors in the complex cultural and historical contexts that have compelled their distinctive fiction, essays, and poetry in a manner that reflects the changes that have taken place in cultural theory and literary criticism since the latter part of the twentieth century. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Bibliography following each entry includes information about work in translation. Covers numerous lesser-known writers and countries, with long thematic entries discussing individual topics.

The Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature in these regions, including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres and movements, from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. Entries range from shorter, factual articles to longer essays, which offer an in-depth treatment of major figures, themes and movements and of national literatures. An introduction and chronology supply a main narrative and context, while systematic cross-referencing and indexing help to guide the reader through the information. The suggestions for further reading, which follow most entries and include English, Spanish and Portuguese works, are invaluable guides to further study and are complemented by a general bibliography which points to many other specialized works in the field.

Explores women's literature from ancient indigenous cultures to the beginning of the twenty-first century. Organized chronologically and written by a host of leading scholars, this History offers an array of approaches that contribute to current dialogues about translation, literary genres, oral and written cultures, and the complex relationship between literature and the political sphere. Covering subjects from cronistas in Colonial Latin America and nation-building to feminicide and literature of the indigenous elite, this History traces the development of a literary tradition while remaining grounded in contemporary scholarship.

Editors Cecilia Vicuna and Ernesto Livon-Grosman present a fresh and expansive selection of Latin American poetry, from the indigenous responses to the European conquest, through early feminist poetry of the 19th century, the early 20th century "Modernismo" and "Vanguardia" movements, later revolutionary and liberation poetry of the 1960s, right up to the experimental, visual and oral poetries being written and performed today.

More than 700 alphabetically arranged entries detail the lives and works of Caribbean authors and provide extensive background information about Caribbean history and culture.

Each volume provides in-depth historical, linguistic, and cultural information on the literatures of Latin America.

Essays on the various national literatures.

Examines how Chicano literature imagines the conditions and costs of cultural change, arguing that its thematic preoccupation with assimilation illuminates the function of literature. Shows how mid-century sociologists advanced a model of assimilation that ignored the interlinking of race, gender, and sexuality and characterized American culture as homogenous, stable, and exceptional.

Contains essays on the life and work of authors covered. Volume 1 includes Chicano and Chicana authors. Volume 2 includes authors from Cuba, the Dominican Republic, and Puerto Rico.

Offers an understanding of why Cuban-American literature and visual art have emerged in the United States and how they are so essentially linked to both Cuban and American cultures. The contributors explore crucial issues pertinent not only to Cuban-American cultural production but also to other immigrant groups—hybrid identities, biculturation, bilingualism, immigration, adaptation, and exile.

Coverage from 1900 to mid-1980s. Includes biography, criticism and bibliographies.

Covers exiles from 1959 to the early 1980s.