LibGuides: Environmental Studies: Databases & Journals

Databases

Other databases with substantial environmental-related research can be found on the Environmental Studies Database List and discipline-specific subject guides.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 950 journals published in the U.S. and abroad. The database also covers conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters. Formerly Lexis Nexis Environmental.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window Environmentally-related coverage from more than 700 journals and reference content from Delmar, Cengage Learning.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, reviews, and conference papers in the fields of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
EconLit (1969 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Academic journal articles, books, and working papers in economics.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis. A good source for current articles in major newspapers and for looking up information about companies, industries, and countries.

Nexis Uni now includes CSRHub ESG Ratings. This publication rates a company's Environmental, Social and Governance (or ESG) impact.

Annual Review of Sociology (1930 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature in sociology.

Key journal titles

Environmental studies is inter-disciplinary and this can make it a little challenging to know what the important journals are.for relevant articles. Here are some key journal titles associated with the different disciplines that make up ES.

Political Science

Economics

Chemistry

History

Environmental History
Climatic Change
ISIS (History of Science Society Journal)
Journal of American History
Pacific Historical Review
Top regional history journal with lots of environmental content

Biology

Environmental Studies

Director of Research Services

Science Librarian

Databases

Key journal titles