Zotero

New! With a Reed email address, all faculty, staff, and students get free unlimited storage.

​Zotero is a free open-source, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, and share research. By having unlimited storage, people can collaborate and share in all disciplines. Zotero is open-source and free, so it also enables students to take their libraries with them after they leave Reed.

To get unlimited storage with Zotero, all you need to do is add your Reed email address to your existing Zotero account.

If you are using your personal account for Zotero, we encourage you to check if you have auto-renew for billing on your account.

To add your Reed email and get unlimited storage, follow these steps:

1. Log in to your zotero.org account
2. On top right corner, next to your login name, click on "Settings"
3. Once on the "Zotero Settings" page under the Account page, scroll until you see "Manage Email Addresses"
4. Add your Reed email address, click "Add."
5. A verification email will be sent. Once you receive the email, validate your Reed email address.
6. Now refresh your web page, under Storage it should say "Institutional Storage: Reed College provides unlimited storage for <email address>."

Exporting Your Library from EndNote

Zotero can't directly import ".enl" EndNote libraries, so the first step is exporting your library from EndNote. The best export format for this is XML.

1. If you wish to export a subset of your EndNote library, select the entries you wish to export.
2. Go to the File menu → Export. A dialog box will pop up asking you where to save the export file.
3. Navigate to your EndNote data directory (typically, My Documents\endnote.Data). This directory contains a 'PDF' folder, but you should be sure to select the data directory rather than any sub-directory.
   • This is important! Zotero will look for file attachments in a directory relative to the location of the exported XML file. If you save this file in the wrong spot, file attachments won't be included when you import into Zotero.
4. For "Save as type", choose "XML".
5. If you only want to export a subset of your library, check the "Export Selected References" box. Otherwise, make sure it is unchecked.
6. Click "Save".
7. Close EndNote

Importing into Zotero

1. Disable your automatic sync in Zotero's Sync preferences. After you have imported your library and checked to be sure you are satisfied with the imported data, you can re-enable automatic sync.
2. Make a backup of your Zotero data directory If there are errors, you can restore your library from the backup.
3. In Zotero, click on the "File" menu and then"Import....". A dialog box will appear, choose the file you have exported from EndNote.
4. Navigate to the location where you exported your EndNote library (if you followed the above instructions, this should be My Documents\endnote.Data) and select the XML file.
5. Click Open.
6. Note, if Zotero encounters any fields in the EndNote XML data that it does not support (e.g., custom fields, author address, author affiliation), it will add these data to a note attached to the imported item. These notes will be tagged with "_EndnoteXML import". You can add these notes to other Zotero fields or delete them.

Adapted from https://www.zotero.org/support/kb/importing_records_from_endnote

If you have EndNote or another reference library you use and would like help with migrating to Zotero, please come visit us or make an appointment with your Liaison Librarian.