LibGuides: History JSem: Law, Culture, and Society in Europe and its Empires (Fall 2024): Books & Articles

Finding Articles - Essential Sources

The two most important databases for the history search:

Historical Abstracts (1954 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Index, with abstracts, to research in world history (excluding North America) from 1450 through the 20th Century. For North American history use America: History and Life.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.

Other databases, some of which provide access to fulltext, relevant to history:

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Replaces Humanities Abstracts. Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published source. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for articles from scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.