Skip to Main Content

Hist 412: Junior Seminar - Law, Culture, and Society in Europe and its Empires

Getting Started

There are many handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias that provide basic information for historical studies. If you are selecting a topic, build a framework by consulting definitions or a quick overview found in these resources and then focus on your topic by searching for more specific information. Tip: Call number "D" = general and European history when you're browsing the stacks. 

Background Resources & General Reference

Europe

Cambridge Historical Encyclopedia of Great Britain and Ireland 
Ref DA34 .C28 1985 
Dictionary-style entries about the United Kingdom; includes a brief bibliography.

Historical Dictionary of the United Kingdom 
Ref DA34 .P36 1997 
Includes bibliographical references.

Bibliography of British History: 
Tudor Period, 1485-1603     Ref DA310 .B53 1959 


Stuart Period, 1603-1714     Ref DA370 .D385 1970
 

Eighteenth Century, 1714-1789     Ref DA483 .A1 P37 1951
 

Medieval France: An Encyclopedia 
Ref DC33.2 .M44 1995 
Essays by scholars with extensive references and a good index.

Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1402-1975 
Ref DP56 .H57 1992 
Essays with references by scholars; includes a chronology and bibliography.

 

General

Chronology of World History 
Ref D11 .M39 1999 
Covers prehistory to 1998 through a timeline showing politics/government/economics, science/technology/ medicine, arts/ideas, and society; no references. 4 v.

Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing 
Ref D13 .G47 1998 
Essays on historians, approaches to writing history, and treatment of historical events; includes texts and references. 2 v.

American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature (online)
Ref D20 .A55 1995 (print)
Comprehensive critical overview of the best contemporary historical scholarship selected by specialists; contains an annotated bibliography for each section. 2 v.

Encyclopedia of World History 
Ref D21 .E578 2001 
Gives highlights and then treats major periods and areas in more detail, without references.