LibGuides: Newspapers: New York Times Online

The New York Times Online

What you need in order to activate or renew your account:

An active @reed.edu email address

Before you set up your Reed account:

If you already have a paid subscription using your Reed email address, you will need to cancel your paid subscription before setting up a connection with our campus group subscription

Account renewal:

Student accounts are active until graduation
Faculty and staff must renew once every four years (we recommend adding an expiration reminder to your calendar, in case you do not receive a renewal reminder)

Steps:

You will need to log on from a computer rather than a mobile device to complete this initial authentication process.

Go to nytimes.com and select the Log In button in the upper right corner.
On the login form that opens, look to the bottom of the screen and select Continue with work or school single sign-on.
On the next screen, enter your Reed email address.
The pop-up will redirect you to the standard Reed login (Kerberos) where you will authenticate with the same credentials you use for other Reed resources, like your email.
You will then be redirected to the New York Times website.

Once you are authenticated, you have the option to set a password for yourself so you can log in directly at nytimes.com from anywhere. Select Account in the upper right, look for the Account settings option, and then scroll down to find the Password option. If you had a password set previously, you will have to use their Forgot Password process to reset it via your email.

If you do not want to set a personal password, you can use the Continue with work or school single sign-on option for future logins.

If you access The New York Times Online on a public computer, please remember to sign out!

Problems getting registered? Submit an Article/databases/ebook access problem report in the form on our Ask a Librarian page. That will open a support ticket directly with our e-resources team.

All current Reed students, faculty, and staff have direct access to nytimes.com once you activate an account using your Reed email address. Our campus subscription also includes mobile News apps for iOS and Android, NYT Audio app for iOS, newsletter subscriptions, The New York Times in Education (see the For Faculty tab), and archival content via TimesMachine (see Archives Access tab).

Note that the access provided is equivalent to a “basic” subscription level, so it excludes Games (like Crossword, Spelling Bee, or Wordle) and The Athletic. At this point, we do have access to Cooking and Wirecutter.

The New York Times in Education may be of special interest to faculty, because it provides articles sorted by discipline with related instructional strategies, plus activities and other content curated by scholars.

This is a different site from nytimes.com. On campus, you can access it directly from the A-Z list; if you would like to reach this service from off-campus, you will need to set up an account through a separate registration page.

Image showing steps: 1. go to timesineducation.com; 2. register using your school email address; 3. success screen; and 4. log in to your account

There are two ways to access archived articles directly from The New York Times (NYT):

TimesMachine

You must be logged in to your NYT account to access TimesMachine

TimesMachine provides searchable, full-image page scans of every issue of The New York Times published between 1851 and 2002. Articles published from 1851 to 1980 are available as PDFs; articles published after 1980 are available only in full-text form and not as PDFs.

Due to copyright limitations, PDF downloads are limited to 5 articles per day per user, but older NYT articles are also available in several of our other databases.

The New York Times Article Archive

You do not have to be logged in to your NYT account to use the archive, but articles may count toward article view limits for non-subscribers

The New York Times Article Archive contains the text of articles dating back to 1851 and is accessed through archive search. Articles from 1851 to 1980 are available in either partial or full text; articles published after 1980 are all available as full text. Photographs and illustrations may not be included.

Full-text archive articles include the entire text of an article. Partial articles include an excerpt of the article and a link to TimesMachine where subscribers can view the entire article in its original form.

You may save articles from the Article Archive for personal use. Copying or storing any article for other than personal, non-commercial use requires permission from The New York Times. To learn more about content permissions view Obtaining and Using Times Content.