LibGuides: Newspapers: Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers Collections

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of major U.S. historical newspapers, including the Black press. Coverage from 1800s to the present. Include full-page and article images.
America's Historical Newspapers (includes access to the Oregonian and Early American Newspapers) (1690 - 1975) This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from early American newspapers. Searchable by presidential eras, eras in American history, place of publications, and newspaper titles. Includes full text of the Oregonian 1861-1971.
Newspapers.com - World Collection This link opens in a new window
The largest online newspaper archive for genealogy and family history, historical research, and local journalism. The emphasis is on historical content rather than current news and events. International coverage includes Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, and Panama.

Historical Newspaper Archives

Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to selected digitized newspaper pages produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program. To jump directly to the digitized content, use the All Digitized Newspapers 1770-1963 tab and search by state, ethnicity, and/or language. A new interface will be available in 2024.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (1701 - 1800) This link opens in a new window
A full text, searchable, digital collection of over 180,000 titles. Includes books, pamphlets, essays and more.
Accessible Archives on History Commons (1700s-1800s) This link opens in a new window
This collection has moved to the History Commons platform. Full text of a large number of 18th and 19th century periodicals, newspapers, and primary sources, including African American newspapers like The Liberator.
African American Newspapers, Series I, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
This collection includes more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. Includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles.
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search just the "Historical Black Newspapers" portion of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection. This includes the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
A compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Latin American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from Latin American newspapers covering the years 1805-1922, including titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela.
ProQuest Historical Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of twelve English-language Chinese historical newspapers from 1832 to 1953.
Shen Bao (1872-1949) This link opens in a new window
The very first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, the full-image and full-text Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao. Chinese language only.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020 This link opens in a new window
This open access collection from Reveal Digital brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.

Times (London) and other British Newspapers

The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 2019) This link opens in a new window
A full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (London), one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.
Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1821-2006 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Sunday Times from its launch in 1822 until 2006. It contains more than 600,000 pages including advertisements, obituaries, classified ads and photographs as well as the articles. Early issues contain colourful information on murders, mysteries, theatre, sport and politics. Please note: The Sunday Times is a separate paper from The Times. Reed also provides access to The Times Digital Archive.
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, (1902 - 2019) This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of book reviews that appeared in the Times Literary Supplement (TLS).
Illustrated London News Historical Archive - 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
This digital archive offers the entire run of this publication in a fully searchable digital format and features high-quality color images that bring to life more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy. Gift of Burton Onstine, '54.
British Library Newspapers (1800 - 1900) This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.

Pacific Northwest Digitized Historical Newspapers

Historic Oregon Newspapers
"On this site you can search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP)"
Washington Online Historical Newspapers
Legacy Washington: Historic Newspapers
"The [Washington] State Library offers a variety of newspapers online from Washington’s territorial period (1853-1889) with a searchable index." From the Washington State Library - digitized from microfilm, so the quality is not amazing, but great content!
See also the Library of Congress's Chronicling American Project.