LibGuides: Econ 385: Asian Economies in Transition: Academic Literature Sources

Academic Literature Sources

EconLit (1969 - Present)
The authoritative database for academic literature in economics.
Coverage Dates: 1969 - Present
Scopus
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
ArticleFirst
Contains citations for articles from scholarly and trade publications in a number of subjects (humanities, social sciences, sciences, business, and medicine).
ABI/INFORM Complete
Full-text journals and sought-after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.

Social Sciences Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

ProQuest Central
Another cross-disciplinary database of mostly academic journals. Many articles are full-text.
PAIS Index (1915 - Present)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, and government documents relating to the study of politics and public affairs.
Coverage Dates: 1915 - Present

Getting Magazine and Journal Articles

Many library databases include information to help you locate articles in the news media and academic literature, but they may not include the full text of the article itself.

The library offers three services to help you make the connection from these databases to the article you need:

Reed FullText link in the database. Most Reed databases include link that says something like "Check Reed FullText."

Print & E-Journals List (includes newspapers and news services). If you know that you are looking for an article from a particular magazine or journal, use this link to search for the publication by title.

Interlibrary Loan Request -- ILLIAD . Log into this service with your Reed network ID and password to request for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for download, usually within 2-5 business days.