Skip to main content

Library resources for the country study project.

Academic Literature Sources

Getting Magazine and Journal Articles

Many library databases include information to help you locate articles in the news media and academic literature, but they may not include the full text of the article itself.
The library offers three services to help you make the connection from these databases to the article you need:
  • Reed fulltext link in the database.  Most Reed databases include link that says something like "Check Reed fulltext."  Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for.
  • Print & E-Journals List (includes newspapers and news services).  If you know that you are looking for an article from a particular magazine or journal, use this link to search for the publication by title.
  • Interlibrary Loan Request -- ILLIAD.  Log into this service with your Reed network ID and passoword to request for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections.  You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for viewing, usually within 1-2 weeks. 

Reed WorldCat Local

The Reed Library catalog is both a catalog and a book delivery system.  When you search this catalog, you're searching:

  • Reed College Library collections
  • The collections in Summit, the combined catalog of over 35 academic libraries in Oregon and Washington
  • The collections over thousands of libraries in the U.S. and some other countries.

From Reed WorldCat Local, you can find call numbers for books at Reed, request Summit books (delivered to the Reed circulation desk in 3-5 days) and request books from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan (plan on up to 2-3 weeks for delivery).

You'll find links to journal articles, including book reviews, in Reed WorldCat Local.  To view the journal articles, follow the links to Reed's electronic resources and journal collections.  Please ask a librarian if you need assistance locating articles linked from Reed WorldCat Local.

Reed-Only Catalog

The information about Reed collections is derived from the Reed Library catalog.  You may want to use the Reed-only catalog to:

  • View recently published or recently requested books that may be on order or in processing.
  • Browse Reed holdings by author, title, call number, or subject heading.