History

Full digital access to the Early American Imprints collection of 36,000 titles on 17th and 18th century American life. Includes most books printed anywhere about America.
Coverage Dates: 1639 - 1819

Digital images of the entire body of books printed in England or about England in the English language.
Coverage Dates: 1473 - 1700

Offers digital images of microfilm of 138,000 English-language titles published in the 18th century.
Coverage Dates: 1701 - 1800

Consists of books and periodicals about, for, and by women and women's rights.
Coverage Dates: 1543 - 1945

Open access, digitized alternative press publications, including small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

Full text digital images of 61,000 works of literature on the economy and business from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature. Topics include commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade, and transport.
Coverage Dates: 1450 - 1850

Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.

Primary sources about the Americas published throughout the world. Includes books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents and provides original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.
Coverage Dates: 1500 - 1926

Primary documents from several important archives. Includes material from books, newspapers, manuscript collections, court records and more.
Coverage Dates: 1700 - 1888

Collection of primary source documents drawn from letters, diaries, and oral histories. This database pulls together content from all of the Alexander Street Press Letters and Diaries"" databases including: North American Women's Letters and Diaries, British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories, The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, Black Thought and Culture, Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society."
Coverage Dates: 1675 - Present

The SDA is a result of collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI) and Yale University Press (YUP) to create an electronic database of finding aids, to digitize documents and images, and to publish in different forms and media materials from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of RGASPI.

A collaborative project of several major research libraries in the U.S. to create a comprehensive library of digital library materials. Login and choose Reed College from the partner institution drop down menu to access more full text content.

Includes articles from a number of newspapers from early America. Searchable by presidential eras, eras in American history, place of publications, and newspaper titles.
Coverage Dates: 1690 - 1975

Partial historical back runs of seven major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1929) Boston Globe (1872 - 1923) Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1985) Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1993) Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1985) New York Times Historical (1851 - 2003) Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1989) Washington Post (1877 - 1990)
Coverage Dates: -

Full text of a large number of 18th and 19th century American Newspapers including the African American Newspapers collection.
Coverage Dates: 1700s - 1800s

Includes a thousand historical periodicals searchable by articles or periodical.
Coverage Dates: 1740 - 1900

English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For current content, see World News Connection.

This digital archive offers the entire run of this publication in a fully searchable digital format and features high-quality color images that bring to life more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy. Gift of Burton Onstine, '54.

Full-text articles from Latin American newspapers covering the years 1805-1922, including titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela.

More than 140 newspapers from 22 islands. Most published in the English language.

The very first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, the full-image and full-text Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao. Chinese language only.

Contains U.S. government congressional documents and some executive department papers. Does not include House and Senate journals.
Coverage Dates: 1789 - 1838

Includes all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Congress.
Coverage Dates: 1817 - 1980

Congressional documents, including bills, statues, hearings, reports, and legislative histories.